Infected with Jesus

            I feel weird. Something is different. I think I am sick. Something has invaded my body and is changing me for the better somehow. I feel, I feel…actually, I feel great! What is this? I have never heard of a sickness that could make me feel like this. Hmm, I cannot put my finger on it so let me see what the Bible has to see about it.

Oh? What is this peculiar label on my Bible?

HEAVENLY PHARMACY
STRAIGHTNARROW WAY HEAVEN 00000
THE ASPIRING ADVENTIST
BIBLE 66 CH
TAKE ANY SIZE AMOUNT DAILY AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE
Infinite refills
Rx # 393581
Prescriber: Jesus
 
Symptoms may include: random acts of kindness, turning the other cheek, loving your enemies, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance, happiness, praising God, thankfulness, ability to see the silver lining and general well being 

           Since I have been taking this medicine, I have been suffering all of the symptoms and it has only gotten better. Apparently the solution for a Jesus infection is more Jesus and the symptoms cause me to do things Jesus would do. It is a wonderful thing and I have been worked into a fine frenzy of feverish delight.

          “I got a fever, and the only prescription is more cowbell!” That is a line spoken by Christopher Walken in a Saturday Night Live sketch of which his enthusiasm for the cowbell as a musical instrument was the highlight. Me, I am not enthused by much of anything (my mom makes fun of my deadpan replies) but I do get excited about Jesus so…

I got a fever, and the only prescription is more Jesus!

Leave a Reply

