Scouted by Jesus

        Ever hear those stories of people scouted by modeling agencies in the mall or high school/college athletes scouted to play for colleges or the big leagues? What about reformed hackers recruited to work for the government or people headhunted for Fortune 500 companies? Well, that is how I met Jesus. I was already in the church but I was just going through the motions both with my spirituality and everyday life until Jesus said “I want you” à la Uncle Sam. What I did not know was that Jesus had already done a background check on the condition of my heart and decided that I would be a perfect fit for the position he had for me should I choose to accept it (à la Mission Impossible).

        Imagine that! As ugly as my sin makes me, as uncoordinated as I am, as unskilled as I am, I am still good enough for Jesus. Jesus handpicked me! (the same girl who rolled her hair up in the car window, got a cord lodged in her steering column and locked herself out of the car all in the span of about ten seconds).  Even disregarding my baggage, Jesus picked me. It is truly amazing. Better yet, he is still recruiting; he wants everyone to accept the positions he has for them and the blessings (benefit package) that come with it. I believe we all belong to Jesus (believers and non believers alike) but given the choice, many of us have defected from his service. Nevertheless, Jesus still has a spot with your name on it just waiting for your return but be aware that it will not be there forever.

        At times I do not feel so special, but it always helps to remember that as small as I am (literally and figuratively) Jesus can always see me. As softly as I speak, Jesus can always hear me. As many people as Jesus has working for him, he knows MY name. In fact, I am so important to Jesus that he even knows the number of hairs on my head. (Matthew 10:29-31Luke 12:6-8) How is that for attention to detail? He will take me as I am (lump of coal) and make me a better version of myself (a diamond) Jesus has chosen me to indulge in his love and all he asks in return is reciprocity. Now, that is a lucrative endeavor.

2 thoughts on “Scouted by Jesus

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this. It fuels me to be more passionate in leading our church. I hope you don’t mind if I share it with my fellow Adventist Youth here. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

