The ABC’s of SDA’s (1)

I haven’t posted in a while and I know people have a lot to say about recent events (Osama, tornadoes, the pseudo second coming) but right now it’s draining and there will be more of the same in the future so for now I don’t even want to discuss it. Instead I will begin my first post of my SDA Fundamental Beliefs series.

What most people know about Seventh Day Adventists is that we go to church on Saturday but there is so much more to our faith including that which sets us apart from other religious denominations under the same umbrella of Protestantism. I’m sure the differences lie mostly in our fundamental beliefs.

The first fundamental SDA belief concerns the scriptures (direct Biblical text). www.Adventist.org says, “The Holy Scriptures, Old and New Testaments, are the written Word of God, given by divine inspiration through holy men of God who spoke and wrote as they were moved by the Holy Spirit. In this Word, God has committed to man the knowledge necessary for salvation. The Holy Scriptures are the infallible revelation of His will. They are the standard of character, the test of experience, the authoritative revealer of doctrines, and the trustworthy record of God’s acts in history”. My favorite verse concerning scripture is 2 Timothy 3:16 (largely because I memorized it as a child) which says, “All scripture is given by inspiration of God and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness”. If I love God and want to live a life that is pleasing to Him, a righteous life, the “How-to” of it all is in the Bible. I consider the Bible a road map to a better, more heaven-ready “me” so far, I’ve even found scriptures for every aspect of myself I want to improve upon like my inner beauty (Galatians 5:22), self esteem (Psalm 139:13-14), and talents ( Matthew 5: 14-16).

It may seem silly, illogical, or irrational to non-religious people that Christians revere the Bible as truth. I feel that what the Bible says is eternally relevant to the past, present and future and as such, is infinitely more ridiculous to ignore. False prophecies, “wars and [rumors] of wars” (Matthew 24:6; Mark 13:7; Luke 21:9), increasing ferocity and frequency of natural disasters, yup, it’s all in there. The question is will you believe in the scriptures wholly or just what seems to work in your favor?

Remember, God doesn’t like fence-sitters, He said, “so then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will [spew] thee out of my mouth” (also, because you’re nasty and have no definite flavor…) Revelation 3:16 (what’s up with this 3:16 thing?  Got to check it out). It may sound harsh but in the words of Heidi Klum “you’re either in or you’re out”. You can’t be a part-time Christian and expect a full-time God. Just as being a part-time Christian will do you no good, only believing some parts of the Bible and not others will only make you easy prey for satan and desensitize you to God’s authority, power, and will. Read the Bible, consult it, use it as a guide and an endless source of spiritual food. My beloved Sabbath school teacher said, “faith is simply taking God at His Word”, and His Word is the Bible so…boom goes the dynamite. Also, don’t underestimate the power of scripture and the fact that the devil can quote scripture too. In order to arm oneself against the time of trouble ahead, it would behoove us to get real familiar with the Word so we will not be misled by the likes of people like Harold Camping (ok, tell me why this man…ugh! forget it, I’m not even going to get into it right now).

One thought on “The ABC’s of SDA’s (1)

  1. Amen! We need to daily arm ourselves with the scripture. The best offense against the devil is defense. Defend ourselves by studying the Bible daily.

Leave a Reply

