Spiritual HP

Spiritual HP is the term I use in reference to the state of my spiritual life (Health Points/Hit Points for those unfamiliar with the game lingo). I’m sure everyone has experienced those inevitable highs and lows on the roller coaster known as our spiritual journey. There are times when my HP is fully intact and I feel confident in my relationship with God and that I’m moving in the right direction (Up? Straight?) yet, there are other times when my HP is in the red and I’m too weak to make any progress.

There are a few things I do to restore my HP. First I pray. I ask God to have mercy on me and remove the distance (that I created) between us. Then, I ask Him to ease my troubled heart. BOOM! It’s that simple. Another thing that really works for me is going outside and marveling at nature. Luke 12:24 (KJV) says, “Consider the ravens: for they neither sow nor reap; which neither have storehouse nor barn; and God feedeth them: how much more are ye better than the fowls?” God takes care of ravens that can’t work for a living and don’t have any material assets, we are more significant than birds (couldn’t think of a more eloquent way to put it, see Genesis 1:26) so shouldn’t we be confident that God will pay just as much or more attention to us? Seeing how God cares for “lower life forms” (ugh, sounds horrible…let’s try that again). Seeing how God cares for less complex life forms (much better), fills my cup (in a Psalm 23 kind of way) and restores my spiritual HP.

The devil tries to hadouken (google it) believers at every opportunity but God is our rock, our sword, and our shield. Paslm 27:1-3 says, “The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORDis the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?²When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell. ³Though an host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident.” Wow right? Scriptures like this can restore spiritual HP too.

Even when it feels like God is really far away, or that He doesn’t care about our trifling lives and our spiritual HP is draining away just remembering how much we mean to God should work like Full Restore (Pokemon reference) and restore our spiritual HP. Full Recovery!

One thought on “Spiritual HP

Leave a Reply

