Too Blessed to be Stressed

          I’m not a control freak or anything but when things are so out of control that I can’t do anything about it, I feel horribly helpless. Recalling my not-so-distant college days, I realize that I was stressed more often than not and usually over things I couldn’t fix. I stressed over the people smoking outside of my window (it wafted in through the a/c vent), I stressed over the bass-thumping parties at 1:00 am on a Saturday (allowed b/c it was the weekend), I stressed over getting heavy assignments in multiple classes at the same time (conspiracy?), and I stressed over classes not having room numbers on the first day of class (some infuriating tradition?). Now that I’m out of school, I have a new set of things that stress me out, like: what grad school I’ll attend (if I’m accepted), what I want to do with my life, and the always uncertain future (I think everyone worries about the last two).

            The difference between then and now is that I pray more. When I get stressed I make a conscious decision to hand my problems over to God. I pray for the strength to release myself from the grip of worry and anxiety. If I truly trust God, then I should stop trying to do things of my own accord. I believe God helps those that help themselves (and those that are unable to) so I will do my part and try harder to rely on God to take care of the rest. So when I’m late and someone cuts me off then goes 20mph, I’ll thank God because they could be saving my life. When nothing comes of that hard-won interview, I’ll trust that God will provide something better. When I am beaten down by life and feel like the weight of the world is on my shoulders, I’ll believe that God has something wonderful in store for me.

            Jesus said, “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest” Matthew 11:28 KJV. One can be so laden with stress that they experience physical maladies such as headaches, panic attacks, and muscular pains ect. But handing one’s problems to Jesus will bring about sweet relief. Phillipians 4:6-7 KJV says, “Be [anxious] for nothing; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God”. One should pray and ask God for help then leave it in His hands and stop worrying. I am determined to soothe my soul and ensure my peace of mind by stepping back and allowing God to take full control over whatever I am stressed about. It’s time to let go and let God.

2 thoughts on “Too Blessed to be Stressed

Leave a Reply

